Wonder Woman: Gods & Mortals

Hey DC fans! This is Ricardo Butler aka Rease Val Zod aka the Black Kryptonian back with what I would make my fifth movie. It would be a Wonder Woman story. Again, I know this has been done over and over again repeatedly, but yes, my movie would be an origin story. Hear me out!

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

As we all know, Marvel started their movie universe with Robert Downey Jr. playing Iron Man. So of course, DC needs to start its DCU with Superman. But chronologically, Captain America was the first Avenger. I mean they pulled the man out of the ice when he was about 70 years old. So, for the most part, his movie takes place during the World Wars. Do you see where I’m going with the comparisons with Wonder Woman?

That’s why I believe we need to see the origin story again, but from another perspective or from another angle. It will still be set during the World War era leading into how she steps into the modern world with the rest of the DC Trinity. But again, the goal is to do her origin again from another perspective.

I mean, if I have been hired to be DC’s Kevin Feige and to copy the MCU success then I’m using what they did as a template. Where the creative differences will be in the stories chosen to draw inspiration from, the characters, and their natural well-known motivations, as well tone of the film, the connectivity of the DC Universe, and of course making these stories fit innovatively on film with a tying theme running through every movie made.

Wonder Woman Vol. 1: Gods and Mortals (Wonder Woman 1-7) (1987)

Already we have three Wonder Woman movies out. Two of them are animated and one is live-action. We have:

Wonder Woman (2009 animated film): Wonder Woman is a 2009 American animated superhero film focusing on the superheroine of the same name. The plot of the film is loosely based on George Pérez’s reboot of the character, specifically the Gods and Mortals arc that started the character’s second volume in 1987.

Wonder Woman (2017 live-action film): n Wonder Woman, the Amazon princess Diana sets out to stop World War I, believing the conflict was started by the longtime enemy of the Amazons, Ares, after American pilot and spy Steve Trevor crash-lands on their island Themyscira and informs her about it.

Wonder Woman: Bloodlines (2019 animated film): Wonder Woman: Bloodlines is a 2019 American animated superhero film focusing on the superheroine Wonder Woman facing enemies of the past who come together and form Villainy Inc.

While these were all good and perfect movies (and I loved all three of them), they were missing the one aspect that I would have loved to see more of. It’s the Gods part. In George Perez’s Gods and Mortals story arc, we get to meet each of the Greek Gods of Olympus! I mean I get it. This is a Wonder Woman story, but I believe the Greek Gods play an important role in Wonder Woman’s back story. And sure, the live-action movie talks a little bit about them and more so about Ares being the main villain of all of the Amazons, but I would have loved to meet each interpretation of the Greek Gods in Diana’s story.

Even in the Brian Azzarello New 52 run, we get to meet the Greek Gods on a more intimate level. It turns out that Zues is Diana’s father then all the Greek Gods are uncles and sisters and brothers to Diana. We get to meet the Olympus family of Diana, not only the Amazons. I know! I know! The way they were drawn and portrayed in the New 52 was uniquely weird for a lot of people. But for me, I just loved the whole new twist that Diana is a demi-god and is related to the most dysfunctional family in the whole DC Universe!

Cast & Character Motives

It’s crazy how many parallels there are between Captain America and Wonder Woman.

Diana Prince/Wonder Woman: Like Steve Rogers, Diana Prince is older than most of the characters on their teams. Whether that’s the Justice League or the Avengers. Plus, they both have that integrity of truth in them. They only see things as black or white or good and evil. They are the team’s consciousness and heart. So, they have a lot in common, which is why I chose Wonder Woman to be the side story as DC’s version of Captain America. These are two heroes out of their time, thrust into the modern world, both figuring out how to adjust.

Hippolyta: Wonder Woman’s mom is like Colonel Chester Phillips who was played by Tommy Lee Jones. Steve didn’t really have a father figure in his movie, but the Colonel was the next best thing. He was hard on him in his training and commanding officer. Likewise, was Hippolyta to Diana. She will still be the same as her motivations in this movie. Trying to balance being the Queen over Diana as well as being the Mother of Diana. And that’s still her struggle when dealing with her daughter.

Ares: Ares is again the villain in my movie. Again, staying true to the comics. He is my DC version of the Red Skull to Cap. I want to do Ares better in my movie. I believe he needs to be a stronger presence of evil influence among mankind’s military like he was in the Gods and Mortals story. I’d like for him to be able to change his appearance from an old man to a young man. I mean he is a deceiver who feeds off conflict. I’d like to think that he can march among the U.S. Militaries ranking leaders or any other country’s ranking leaders and have some kind of charm and influence. Remember, in my DCU we are loosely using the human trafficking idea from Young Justice. So using Ares in a way that he draws young men and women into conflict and possessing them is a twist I want to see.

Steve Trevor: Steve Trevor will always be Diana’s love interest just as Peggy Carter is to Captain America. So I have to have him in the movie crashing on the island, escaping with Wonder Woman back to the States, uncovering evil, and trying to stop a war from happening.

Artemis: If Cap got Bucky, I believe Wonder Woman should have Artemis. I know! I know! It would make more sense to be Donna Troy or Cassie. But I personally love Artemis. I don’t think she gets the credit she deserves. She is a great character and her back story more resembles Bucky becoming Winter Soldier than Donna Troy or Cassie Sandsmark. I mean Artemis became Wonder Woman in the comics! She needs some spotlight and her being more of a competitor to Diana rather than a sidekick like Bucky or Donna is a different dynamic that I want to see.

Etta Candy: Etta Candy is our Howard Stark. She’s assisting Wonder Woman and Steve Trevor in their mission.

Antiope: Is the leading support for Wonder Woman after Diana’s mom. She is Diana’s aunt. She is sort of like Captain America’s Howling Commandos all rolled up in one with her band of Amazons called the Bana-Mighdall, which is the tribe that Artemis is from.

Philippus: As the Amazon General is our version of Gabe Jones of the Howling Commandos. She is another character that I love that gets slept on a lot in animated and live-action versions of the Amazon stories told.

Other Supporting Character Rolls (Optional)

I’m no scriptwriter, so I wouldn’t know how the rest of these characters would play out in this movie if they were used. I just want to see them done justice in a Wonder Woman movie. As I mentioned before, I would love to see these Gods and demi-gods on the big screen.

  • Aphrodite
  • Apollo
  • Athena
  • Hades
  • Hecate
  • Hephaestus
  • Hera
  • Hermes
  • Poseidon – I would love to see a connection between him and Aquaman and Atlantis.
  • Zeus
  • Jason – Wonder Woman’s brother.
  • Lennox

That’s all I got. If you got more ideas you would like to add to this story or what you would like to see in a Wonder Woman movie, leave a comment below!

Thanks for reading!